Minutes of Meeting

Kent Memorial Library Commission

November 9, 2010

Lynne Cigal called the meeting to order at 7:02 P.M.

 I Roll Call

Present: M. Alexopoulos, M. Chafetz, L. Cigal, M.P. Coatti, C. Kawalec, J. Lobo, B. Rietberg, B. White and J. Wilson.

Absent: D. Battle, J. Grimard and C. Rago.

Also Present: Library Director Jim McShane

II Public Participation None


III Minutes

The minutes of the October 1, 2010 meeting passed unanimously.


IV Communication None


V Director’s Report


VI Standing Committee None


VII Unfinished Business

In appreciation of their dedicated service, Lynne Cigal and Bruce Rietberg provided snacks for the library staff one day in October.


VIII New Business

Mel Chafetz presented a position paper from the Suffield Library Foundation asking the Commission to 1) endorse their library proposal, 2) contribute $600.000 from the KML’s capital fund for a new library, and 3) attend town meetings whose functions relate to the building of a new town library.


Jason Lobo made a motion, seconded by Mike Alexopoulos, to approve the Library Foundation’s proposal with amendments. The motion passed unanimously.


Bob White made a motion, seconded by Claire Kawalec, that the Kent Memorial Library Commission commit the entire balance in the capital fund to the construction of a new library at the time that a new library is approved by the town. The motion passed unanimously.


VIII New Business

Mike Alexopoulos discussed the status of the Finance Committee.


The next regular meeting is January 11, 2012.


IX Adjournment

Bruce Reitberg made the motion, seconded by MelChafetz, to adjourn at 8:26.

Respectfully submitted,

Joyce M. Wilson

Secretary of the Commission

November 9, 2010