Minutes of Meeting

Kent Memorial Library Commission

April 12, 2011


Bob White called the meeting to order at 7:04 P.M.

 I Roll Call

Present: M. Alexopoulos, D. Battle, M. Chafetz, M.P. Coatti, J. Grimard, C. Kawalec, B. Rietberg, B. White and J. Wilson.

Absent: L. Cigal, J. Lobo and C. Rago.

Also Present: Library Director Jim McShane

II Public Participation None

III Minutes

Sam Coatti made the motion, seconded by Claire Kawalec, to accept the minutes of the March 8 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

IV Communication None

V Director’s Report

VI Standing Committees


At last month’s meeting Mike Alexopoulos submitted a proposal outlining a policy for the Debit Card Account. Mel Chafetz made the motion, seconded by Claire Kawalec, to accept the proposal: Statement of Policy for Debit Card Account. The motion passed unanimously.


In recognition of their generosity, forty donors of the Reserve Our Seat project were invited to a special event at the Library to view the refurbished auditorium and to hear the Suffield Jazz Band. Ten donors attended this event.


VII Unfinished Business


Bonding for the New Library and Other Town Projects

Mel Chafetz encouraged Commission members to attend the Library Foundation meeting on April 14. A discussion about signage and other publicity regarding the upcoming April 28 referendum followed.


VIII New Business

Kim Lord recently attended a Trendspotting 2011 meeting at the Darien Library. The Library staff will discuss the main topics presented at this forum in the upcoming weeks.


The next regular meeting is May 10, 2011.


IX Adjournment

Mel Chafetz made the motion, seconded by David Battle, to adjourn at 8:28.

Respectfully submitted,

Joyce M. Wilson

Secretary of the Commission

April 19, 2011